Archive | 9:03 pm

5 Favorite Summer Nail Polishes

20 May

Here are 5 of my favorite summer nail polish picks! I know there are several other great ones out there, as well as several dupes for each of these, but these are the ones that I have and plan to use a lot of this summer. 🙂 I would post my own swatches and photos, but I figured it wouldn’t be fair to the polishes since I only have my web cam to work with at the moment, and it certainly wouldn’t do any of them justice. What are your favorite picks for your nails this summer?

1. Mint Candy Apple by Essie

Mint Green is definitely one of the “it” colors this summer! I also love that I can get this opaque in about 2 coats! Most pastels I have to really pile on in order for them to not appear transparent on my nails.

2. For Audrey by China Glaze

This is one of my all-time favorite polishes- EVER! Tiffany Blue is my favorite color, so naturally I would pick this one up. I wear it year round, but it’s extra-perfect for this summer since pretty pastels are a huge trend.

3. Flip Flop Fantasy by China Glaze

Neon and coral; two big trends in one polish! And it definitely is neon- almost blinding! I love it, and I use it A LOT. Just look at the nail designs I’ve posted in the last few months. 🙂 I’d say I used this polish in at least half of them!

4. That’s Hot Pink by OPI

Hot pink nails never go out of season or out of style, in my opinion, and this hot pink polish is one of my favorites! It’s the perfect shade, perfect consistency, and perfect finish.

5. Quick Sand by Sally Hansen Insta-Dri

I had to include a nude polish on my list! I like this particular one because it’s true to color in just 2 coats. Not only that, but it has a subtle shimmer if you look closely. It’s like the best of both worlds- creamy finish far away, with a shimmery surprise up close. 😉

Carrie Bradshaw Inspiration

20 May

I love Sex and the City, and I definitely love Carrie Bradshaw and her unique, rebellious fashion sense! Here’s an outfit I created on Polyvore taking inspiration from an outfit that Sarah Jessica Parker (Carrie) wore in the opening sequence of the Sex and the City 2 movie. This was so fun, so I will likely recreate more Bradshaw gems in the future! 🙂

Get the Look:
*Velvet Shanley Jersey Dress with Ruffled Neckline$225
*Christian Louboutin Pigalle 120mm$3,395
*Anya Hindmarch Marano Glitter-Finish Box Clutch$595
*1928 Petite Azore Blue Statement Necklace$32
*Givenchy Metal Aviator Sunglasses in Gold- $439

Eye Look- Fuchsia, Purple, and Blue

20 May

Still no camera here. 😦 Most of the shopping I do is for only groceries lately… and I still need to buy a new comforter for my bed in the worst way as every time I move the one I currently have, I get a giant cloud of feathers in my face! Soon, though… soon!

What I Used:
*Urban Decay Eye Shadow Primer Potion in Eden (matte, light-skintone base)
*MAC Charcoal Brown e/s on Brows (matte muted, taupe brown)
*MAC Shroom e/s (soft, shimmery beige)
*MAC Romping e/s (shimmery fuchsia)
*MAC Vibrant Grape e/s (matte bright plum purple)
*MAC Top Hat e/s (dark royal purple)
*LORAC Chic e/s (matte off-white)
*MAC Bang On Blue e/s (vibrant true blue)
*Urban Decay 24/7 Eye Liner in Crash (deep plum purple with silver sparkle)
*Benefit BADgal Mascara in Black