Egg + Olive Oil Hair Mask Review

3 Sep

I’m playing Pinterest guinea pig here. I’ve been seeing this healthy hair egg mask how-to being pinned and re-pinned on Pinterest over and over again, so I thought I would give it a try since it was easy and I had all 3 of the ingredients handy. It’s supposed to make your hair soft, healthy, and shiny. I don’t exactly need softer hair, as mine is already extremely soft and fine, but because I heavily highlight my hair, it’s in desperate need of some shine and strengthening! Here is what the pin says:


“Egg yolks won’t only make your hair softer, shinier and healthier but help you to grow it long as well. And, in order to get all the benefits egg yolks provide, simply mix 2 egg yolks with 2 tbsp of olive oil, dilute the mixture by adding a cup of water and then slowly and thoroughly massage this mask into your scalp. Give your hair and scalp 15 to 20 minutes to absorb all the needed nutrients and then rinse off.”

Now, I know that hair is made up of proteins, so putting eggs (which are high in protein) in the hair didn’t seem totally crazy to me. I always thought that the egg whites contained the most protein, not the yolks, but I had every intention of following this recipe exactly, so I just used the yolks. I mixed the yolks, water, and olive oil together with a whisk and poured the mixture into an old hair coloring bottle for easier application. Despite having very thin, fine hair, I used the entire mixture in order to completely saturate all of my hair, and so I didn’t waste any. 😉 I probably needed about half of what I made, but oh well. I massaged it into my scalp as I applied it, as well as after it was all over my head. I would’ve used a shower cap to cover my hair but I didn’t have any, so I used a highlighting cap. You’ll want to find something to cover your hair with, as the mixture is pretty watery and runny. And eggs aren’t exactly something you want dripping all over you. I left it on for about 20 minutes, maybe a little longer, and rinsed it out. The post didn’t say anything about whether or not to wash your hair afterwards, but I couldn’t imagine not washing egg out of my hair, so I used shampoo, but no conditioner. The first thing I noticed was that my hair was about 85% easier to comb through while wet than it usually is. My hair is very prone to tangling and matting, so this was a nice change for me. Once dried, my hair did feel a bit softer than usual, and perhaps a tiny bit shinier, but not so much that I was completely wowed. As for strength and repair, I didn’t notice much of a difference there, either. This was the only time I’ve tried this, so perhaps using it more frequently (such as once a week or so) would provide better and more effective results, but for the first time I wasn’t overly impressed. I may or may not try it again in the future… and if I notice any improvements I will be sure to let everyone know!

Original pin linked to this website.

One Response to “Egg + Olive Oil Hair Mask Review”

  1. bagladyboutique September 4, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    Reblogged this on Bag Lady Boutique.

Leave a Reply

