Britney Spears X-Factor Inspiration

23 Aug

I decided to give Carrie Bradshaw a break this time and focus on recreating some fashion worn by the lovely Ms. Britney Spears! Now, before you start wondering if I have my people mixed up, let me just say that I’m well aware that Britney typically isn’t one of the more fashion-forward celebrities. At least not in the sense that she’s always extremely put together in the latest trends and styles according to fashion experts. However, I absolutely adore the outfits she’s been wearing while filming the open auditions for her upcoming stint as a judge on season 2 of The X Factor! They’re cute, feminine, sexy, and I must say she has been looking fabulous! Since The X Factor premieres in a couple of weeks, and because I’ve been a huge Britney fan for several, several years, I decided to pay homage to the reigning princess of pop by biting her recent fashion choices. Some of the dresses are the actual dresses she wore, just because I couldn’t find anything quite like them that struck my fancy, and because the originals are just so amazing! Others are more so inspired by what she wore, like I usually do. Unfortunately Britney doesn’t seem to be keen on accessorizing, so the outfits are pretty much dresses and shoes with the occasional small jewelry. Don’t forget to catch the season 2 premiere of The X Factor September 12th, at 8:00pm EST. on FOX, and every Wednesday and Thursday night for the foreseeable future!

Look #1:

This outfit was worn when Britney made her official X Factor filming debut, and I think she came out with a bang! I absolutely love this dress- the color, the sheer panel, everything about it, which is why I just couldn’t allow myself to use a dress that barely mimicked it. I really couldn’t find anything that did it even a little bit of justice.


Get the Look:
*Brian Lichtenberg Coral Pink Zipper Scuba Dress$396
*New Look Black Studded Court Shoes£29.99

Look #2:

Im not entirely happy with the imitation I came up with for this outfit. I couldn’t find anything with a similar pattern or colors that was the same cut and shape as the dress that Britney wore here. I ended up going with a shape that was similar, as it’s my favorite aspect of the dress. I adore the “puffiness” of the skirt! I’ll be honest, I had no idea that the necklace I used was a small clock pendant. Usually when I’m putting outfits together on Polyvore I’ll screen cap everything, upload the images, and only when I’m ready to type everything do I look at the individual item websites to get the price and whatnot. And sometimes the images on Polyvore can be very deceiving as they’re really small a lot of the time, and I don’t always have the need to enlarge them. Most of the time if something isn’t what it seems I’ll go back and replace it with something I like better, but I’m doing 5 outfits at once right now, and feeling a little lazy, so let’s just pretend that the necklace is a simple, diamond necklace. Unless, of course, the clock fancies you. 😉

Get the Look:
*Fat Face Serena Broderie Dress$76
*Sergio Rossi Platform Pump$529
*River Island Silver Tone Clock and Key Necklace£12.00

Look #3:

This is probably my least favorite look of the five, just because I’m not too keen on the overall shape of the dress. I don’t think it’s really flattering on Britney, and on most people, to be honest. However, I am a big fan of shimmer and sparkle so that makes up for it. I also really love the metallic gold shoes! I don’t really care for the color of the dress I found, and it’s another good example of being deceived on Polyvore! The way I originally had viewed it, it appeared to be sparkly. But once I saw it up close, after all of the screen capping and uploading was completed, I saw that it’s really just white polka-dotted. Boo, that makes the color even uglier in my opinion. At least if it were glitter it would appear more gold. To me, the mustard yellow just doesn’t go with the cloak-y shape of the dress.

Get the Look:
*Attic and Barn Spotty Shift Dress$274
*Giuseppe Zanotti I26085 Open Toe Pumps in Bronze- $650

Look #4:

I love the edginess of this look. The cut-out holes are playful and sexy, especially paired with those sexy shoes, but not so over the top that it looks trashy. I really like the fit on her, too. This is the exact dress she wore, as well, which explains why every website I came across that had it is sold out!

Get the Look:
*Herve Leger Black Cut-Out Bandage Dress- No Longer Available Online
*CARLOS by Carlos Santana Tzarina in Black- $120
*Amazon Curated 10k White Gold Filigree Teardrop Diamond Earrings$200

Look #5:

I love this look. I love bandage dresses, especially on Britney, I love the vibrant red, and her hair and make-up seem to be particularly on point that day, too! She looks absolutely gorgeous and sexy, which is why I went with an extremely similar dress. In fact, I’m almost positive it is the dress she wore!

Get the Look:
*Herve Leger Katya Bandage Dress in Rio Red- $1,250
*Casadei Closed Toe Slip-Ons$298

Leave a Reply

