Ombre Nail Design

13 Jun

I love ombre nails, hands down. In fact, I think I wear this on my nails more often than I paint my nails one color. It’s an easy way to add some extra punch to your nails without having to worry about designs, stickers, and other nail design add-ons. There are several different types of ombre designs for nails. Here are some examples and variations. *Note: Many of the pictures I found on Pinterest, and weren’t linked to the original website. I do not intend to take credit for these images or infringe anyone’s copyrights. Please let me know if you see something that is yours, and I will give proper credit or take down the image!

1. From Pinky to Thumb

The easiest way to achieve an ombre nail look. Choose a single color, and on each finger paint a different shade of that color, ranging from light to dark or dark to light. For example, if you were using blue, you could use the following colors: baby blue, sky blue, mid-tone blue, true royal blue, and navy blue. Photo Credit: Glitta Gloves

2. Vertical

Go from light to dark, or dark to light, from the tip of your nail down to your cuticle. You can go from light to dark within a single color, or create a gradient transition between two or more colors. An easy way to achieve this look is to take all of your colors and paint the gradient on a sponge, about the size of your nail, and just press it onto your nail. Photo Credit: Latina

3. Horizontal

Similar to the vertical design, only going from side to side rather than top to bottom of your nail. Check out the steps in the above photo for an easy way to get this look. Photo Credit: Hey, Nice Nails!

4. Glitter

You can do glitter gradients either by the color of glitter, or by creating a diffused glitter look like in the above photo. It’s easiest to use a glitter that isn’t very compact so you can build the amount of glitter up to the tip of your nail. This can be done over a color, or can be a great way for a subtle yet dressed up look on an unpolished nail. Photo Credit: The Polished Perfectionist

One Response to “Ombre Nail Design”

  1. fashionerrd June 13, 2012 at 5:37 am #

    Great post! I tried to DIY the vertical and the glitter ombre nails but neither of them worked!!! :(. I love them in theory though or if someone else can do them for me!lol….check out my blog thefashionerrd.wordpress.com and if you like it follow ! Thanks

Leave a comment