Summer ’12 Swimsuit Trends

25 May

This weekend is memorial day weekend, which not only remembers fallen U.S. soldiers, but also marks the weekend when most people open their pools! With that said, it’s time to get out those swim suits! I love swimming. Well, I’m not necessarily much of a swimmer per say, but I love going in the pool to lay out, cool off, or just splash around. If you’re in the market for a new swim suit this year, here are some trendy ideas for you to take with you. Enjoy!

1. Ruffles

Super girly and feminine, ruffled swim suits seem to be a favorite this season. I think they’re adorable, however, I don’t know that this particular style would work with my body type. I’m pretty top heavy, so I fear that the ruffles would draw more attention to the area, which is totally not necessary! šŸ˜‰

2. Sexy One-Pieces

Who said bikinis get to have all of the sexy fun?! One pieces do not have to be boring and modest. Try one with a plunging neck line, one strap, strapless, or cut in a different shape than the usual one-piece. Even a plain, nude-colored suit can be sexy!

3. Monokinis

Monokinis are the best of both worlds- a one-piece and a bikini in one! Basically they are bikinis with fabric connecting the top and bottom in some shape or form. They have been gaining popularity for the past several years, and this year is no exception. There are a zillion different variations and cuts of this type of swim suit, too, as you can see from the few I picked in the above photo. In many instances, I find that monokinis are even sexier than bikinis!

4. Fringe

I’d say at least 80% of the swim suits I’ve seen in fashion magazines, on fashion blogs, and posted on pinterest contain some sort of fringe decoration. And I’m with the 80%, because I absolutely love this trend. Kind of like a sexy Pocahontas look. šŸ˜‰ I’d say this is one of the biggest trends for summer 2012 suits!

5. Classic

Old school swim suit fashion is still lingering around! Not only in design and form, but patterns, as well. High-wasted bikini bottoms, polka dots, boy shorts one pieces- all still around. šŸ˜‰ Most of these styles are obviously going to be modernized a bit, but they’re still adorable and timeless!

6. Bows

Bows, bows, bows! And I’m not talking about the ties on your bikini! These swim suits are adorable yet sexy. I particularly love ones where the entire front of the top is a giant bow. Again, they, like the ruffles, might be a bit too much for bustier girls, but I still love the look!

Those are my 6 summer 2012 swim suit styles to watch out for! What are you swimming in this summer? Do you purchase a new swim suit every year, or only when necessary?

Leave a Reply

